OK. Made it back Home.

March 28, 2012

Sorry for just leaving ya all hanging like that!  As last reported, I was having these odd Fever episodes.

What was that, about a week ago?  Close enough I suppose.

I’m gonna try to lay out a timeline of events here, but it may not be entirely accurate.

Saw the Family Doc Wednesday about the Fevers. He prescribed and Antibiotic and made a call to the Oncologist because I was starting to look a bit Jaundiced.

Saw the Oncologist Thursday morning about 11am and By this time I’m starting to turn Bright Yellow/Orange.

She’s a great Doc, but she would NOT make it as a card player. She took one look at me when she walked into the exam room and I could see her face kinda drop. After a quick exam, she sent me straight over to get a Ultra Sound exam of the Biliary area to see if something was blocked up.  Sure enough, It appeared that the Tumor associated with the Liver Mets along with some Lymph Nodes and I don’t know what else were indeed blocking the Biliary system from draining.

This is known in medical jargon as – “Double Plus Ungood”.

Back over to the Oncologists office and she has already arranged for me to go to Big City Med Center early the next morning (Friday) for an ERCP procedure. Since I still haven’t learned to use links, here’s the Wiki on it- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ERCP.

They ended up putting 2 stents in the Biliary drain pipe and 1 right in the small intestine where the drain comes out.

I was home by noon and felt like shit all day. And it just kept getting worse. By 7pm the wife thought I was gonna die and packed my happy self off to the ER. Where my Coworkers were all over me like stink on shit.

They tapped my port, got fluids going, pain and nausea meds, drew labs and all the regular things ya do.

Turns out there were 2 major things going on.

1) The ERCP had stirred up my Pancreas enough to light off a good Pancreatitis attack. This was a new and exciting thing for me.

2) problem was I was still FOS. That’s official medical jargon for – Full of S*&t.

My buddy and adopted Son ParaMedicKid, stepped up and administered a soap suds enema to my sorry ass. With pretty remarkable results I may add.

Let’s have a round of applause for the KID!!!!

They sent upstairs for the night at that point.

I had been scheduled to come in Saturday morning for a Transfusion of 2 units of blood anyway, so I was there and and they could do their job easy enough.

So Saturday was Blood and pain management. And mostly a fog for me.

Sunday I felt a bit better as my Pancreas levels had dropped by half. My jaundice was resolving well too, since things were draining well.

Monday, that’s when we were originally scheduled to start the chemo BTW, was pretty much a repeat of Saturday. The Docs wanted to get everything Lab Work with the Liver and Pancreas in line before starting Chemo. Kinda disappointed me, but what the hell do I know?

These folks have been right all along, so I can’t argue to much.

Got to come home yesterday afternoon. Happy about it too.

That’s all I have to energy for right now. We’ll get a bit more later.

Gratuitous Picture for a Wednesday-

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 Responses to “OK. Made it back Home.”

  1. jim the trooper Says:

    Tell the ParaMedicKid and the C & C cousins I really appreciate them looking after you and helping out. Great young men. Don’t find that very often anymore. Quality individuals.

    • crazyuncle Says:

      I am truly blessed to have the friends I do. I can’t even begin to say enough about these guys to do them justice.

      They have always been there when I needed something and always with a smile on there faces to “Help out the Old Man”.

  2. China Says:

    Glad you’re back home!Damn had us worried for a minute! Take care Bro!

    China
    III

    • crazyuncle Says:

      China, I was worried myself Friday night. I never felt that bad in my life.
      Weak as hell now but feeling better as the day goes on. Gonna need to build my strength back up and get going again.

      Got good news I’ll post in a minute too.

  3. karlushanka Says:

    Welcome Home Soldier!

  4. brocktownsend Says:

    Keep fighting!

    • crazyuncle Says:

      You got it, Brock! Can’t get down and lose that confidence.

      PTO- Positive Thoughts Only!

      Was having a bit of doubt there Friday and Saturday, but we’re back on track now!


Leave a Reply

