Saw the Surgeon This Afternoon…..

February 23, 2012

Doctor SH/NB (Small Hands/Nice Boobs) the surgeon was real direct and explained pretty much everything in detail. Other than a few technical things I wasn’t aware of (Having never worked in surgery) it was pretty straight forward.

 

Surgery will be Monday Morning 2-27-12 @ 08:30. 

 

Bonus points for 2 things-

1) Won’t be shitting in a bag afterwards. Yay for me!

I know it’s silly, but I just didn’t want to deal with that to. I would have of course if it came to that, but it was just one less thing I didn’t want to deal with.

2) She may be able to do the surgery Laproscopically which will be a lot less invasive and make healing and dealing with having your guts cut out a bit easier.

I told her to give it a try but I wouldn’t get pissy if she has to revert to the old “Whack em & Hack em” to get what she needs done.

She’s gonna take my Gallbladder while she’s in there and a few Lymph Nodes and some Liver samples also.

I told her to whack out as much of those Liver Lesions as possible and cauterize it with a cigar if she wanted. She said something about no smoking in the OR or she’d try it.

Damn if I don’t get to do that lovely Bowel Prep again Sunday! Oh well. Gotta be clean for this too. At least I don’t have to rush because of scheduling it like I did the first time so I won’t be up all night racing to the shitter.

I can do it all day instead. Doesn’t sound like much but believe me, that’s a way better option.

Feeling better after talking to her. Her approach to discussing this was much better than the Oncologist yesterday.

She basically said the same things, just in a way that wasn’t so damn depressing.

We talked about the Chemo mix and she straight up told me it was gonna suck. She called it a “Bitches Brew” I believe.

We talked statistics also and while she was direct, her delivery was just better.

 

Or maybe I’ve had 24 hours to digest it and was better prepared to hear it. That may be all it was, I don’t know.

 

My heads better today and I have a zillion things to get lined up and investigate yet. My poor wife is gonna be wearing out her notebook and phone/internet researching options and what not.

 

Statistically, the prognosis sucks. I’m gonna do my best & try to NOT be in the bad Stats column.

No telling how that’s gonna work out yet. But I’ll do whatever I need to do on my part.

I’m not a roll over and die kinda guy by nature. so getting in Monday is good for me.

Let’s Roll!

 

Talk to ya later.

Unk

 

 

17 Responses to “Saw the Surgeon This Afternoon…..”

  1. tvi Says:

    HEY CUZ, JUST WANTED TO LET YOU KNOW I’M THINKIN’ ABOUT YA. I’M PRAYING ALL GOES WELL. IT SOUNDS LIKE YOU’RE COVERING ALL THE BASES. JUST A THOUGHT, HAVE YOU THOUGHT ABOUT ANYTHING HOMEOPATHIC? THAT’S PRETTY MUCH THE WAY GERI AND I ROLL. JUST A THOUGHT. KEEP UP THE GOOD FIGHT! TALK TO YOU SOON, TVI

  2. Jean Says:

    Ya know, that’s a great way to look at it, Unk.
    Even if the stats are not great, you could very well be in the elite column. Somebody has to be, why not you?
    You’ve definitely got my vote.

  3. Rich T Says:

    Unk I’ll stick you on the prayer chain at church. I’m glad there was some good news in that.

    At least you will have some eye candy to dream about while out.

  4. China Says:

    Keep fighting Bro!We are all pulling for ya,prayin too! I know it wasn’t what you wanted to hear,but people do beat it all the time.I know you are one of em.I think some folks just give up. Glad you got your mind right! Will be looking to hear from ya when get through it all! Yuuck Remember the bowel cleaner stuff from colonoscopy my butt looked like one of them red assed monkeys!!Be talking to ya!

    China
    III


  5. Statistically, the prognosis sucks.

    What is it? Like to compare it to my friend whose prognosis also sucked, but is alive and well after many years.

  6. crazyuncle Says:

    Yep, that prep is really something. Thanks a lot, China.
    Hope I’m good enough for the Patcom in May.

  7. Shop Teacher Bob Says:

    You getting the operation in the hometown hospital? I’ll be there Monday – just want to make sure I show up at the right place.

  8. Joe Says:

    with all stats, unless it is 100-0, there are losers AND winners. You can be a winner in this sucky lottery. You are in my prayers.

    • crazyuncle Says:

      That’s it right there, Joe. My goal is to be that statistical outlier that beats the odds.
      BTW I drove through your area on the way home from that PET scan the other day.


Leave a Reply

