Another, “Not What I Wanted to Hear, Doc” Day……..

February 22, 2012

Made the drive up North and got the PET scan done earlier today. No big deal. The only hard part was holding my arms out over my head for the 10-15 minutes required for the scan.

The arthritis in my right shoulder was killing me by the time it was over and I was having a hard time holding still. And since I wanted good pictures, I needed to hold still.

They finally came in there and told me they were done and that was a great relief.

Was back home by 1:30 and kicked back till the appointment with the Oncologist at 5:00.

DocO is a good practitioner and has done a lot of good for a whole lot of people and I was anxious to hear what she had to say.

Until she started talking anyway.

Seems the scope showed the effected area of the colon quite well and they got a bunch of good biopsies and pictures.

Trouble is it’s way worse than I thought.

It’s circumferential and has damn near obstructed things. Think of a doughnut inside of a pipe and you’ll get the idea.

OK, I had already figured that I was gonna get a hunk of me cut out and that didn’t really change anything.

When she moved into the chemo area I was still hanging with her.

That’s when the conversation went South for me.

She was not at all encouraging about any sort of long term outlook at all.

Now maybe she was hedging her bet so as to not inflate my hopes or what. I don’t know.

But what she did say was really not what I wanted to hear.

As you can expect, I’m a bit bummed tonight. Tomorrows a new day and I’ll get back to work on getting my good attitude back in working order. I’ll also see the surgeon tomorrow.

I picked this particular surgeon because she has small hands and nice Boobs.

Ok, that’s not really true, but I thought it sounded good. Can’t start to soon on getting that good attitude back, eh?

So yeah, I’m a little bummed tonight. What is this now, day 6 into this whole mess?

Yes, and if your wondering, I’m getting a 2nd opinion. I know the surgery is not optional, but we’ll see about the treatment after that.

Don’t have the funds to just jet off to any old place and see about this, but there are other options I need to explore.

That’s it for tonight.

Talk more after I see Dr Small Hands/Big Boobs tomorrow.

Unk

14 Responses to “Another, “Not What I Wanted to Hear, Doc” Day……..”

  1. Lonnie McCool Says:

    Makes me wish I had thought about your criteria for picking a surgeon when I had my vasectomy done

  2. crazyuncle Says:

    Made sense at the time. Sometimes it doesn’t pay to overthink these things.

  3. judydee Says:

    Yes, surgery not optional. Second and maybe third opinions, definitely. Good attitude a must, but feeling bummed is understandable.

    Prayers and blessings,
    judydee

  4. red450 Says:

    Those are better qualities in a dentist! At least you’re awake and have a good view. =]

  5. Clint Says:

    Thanks for the updates Unk… I want you to know you’ve got a whole lotta people out here rooting for ya. Lemme know when we can get together for a visit.

    • crazyuncle Says:

      Thanks Pal. Been pretty busy doing all of the running around. See the Surgeon this afternoon. I’ll be home this weekend and don’t know of anything going on. I’ll give ya a call.

  6. Surly Says:

    I know a guy who went through similar stuff. Last night he told me that getting second and third opinions is key. If he could go back he said he would have definitely gotten other opinions and picked his doctor more carefully.
    I’ll give you a call soon. I know your busy but I’d like to talk to you.
    Hang in there.

  7. Jean Says:

    More opinions. Yes.
    And, nothing wrong with liking the view! 😉

  8. Debbie malinak Says:

    Praying for you.


Leave a Reply

