Almost Blew a Gasket

February 20, 2012

On the way to the PET scan a little while ago and about 10 minutes from getting to the hospital I get a call.

“I’m sorry, but there’s a problem with the scanner and we’re going to have to reschedule your scan”.

I almost unloaded on the poor girl but managed to keep it together. I’m pretty sure I still sounded like a prick, but I know what could have been.

It wasn’t her fault and I told her that, but like I said. I probably sounded like a prick.

To quote Joe Biden – “This is a big Fucking Deal”.

So I seethed all the way home and started the bowel prep for tomorrows scope. Oh joy.

 

Well, turns out they called me to figure out a reschedule and I told the lady I was not opposed to driving myself to get this done sooner and she listed a bunch of places that they do scans at – This is a mobile unit BTW- and she found one not to awful far from here that I can make Wednesday afternoon.

OK, that’s better than waiting for a week for them to make it back here. I don’t think my mental hygiene would hold out that long so a bit of driving to keep things on track is alright with me.

My stomach is giving me clues that the Mag Citrate is starting to work so I better quit now and be ready to sprint when necessary.

Gotta run, Unk

 

6 Responses to “Almost Blew a Gasket”

  1. Jean Says:

    Glad they could re-schedule you quickly. Don’t blame you for wanting to get all the tests done ASAP so the plan of attack can be laid out and begun. Good luck, sweet man!

    I’ll be adding this place to my blog roll so I can pop over often.

    • crazyuncle Says:

      Jean- Driving a ways is a bit inconvenient, but damn sure better than waiting a week.
      My lovely wife will be with me and an hour or so ride with her alone may well be a blessing in disguise. We haven’t had much alone time since this all blew in.

  2. judydee Says:

    Remember what I said about the plan changing? Sorry for the frustration, glad you were able to work it out. Plan a long nap after the scope, then treat yourself. Careful not to overload the stomach though.

    Prayers and blessings.

  3. crazyuncle Says:

    Thanks for the tip, Judydee. You were right, that’s for sure.
    I am currently working on my 2nd bottle of Mag Citrate waiting for the toxic explosions to begin.
    That first one wasn’t to bad but this 2nd one is difficult. Nasty tasting stuff.

  4. vicomtesse Says:

    I shall be praying for you continually.

    • crazyuncle Says:

      Vicomtesse- I really think the prayers have helped already. My spirit and mind are both much lighter the last 2 days. Well, other than my little meltdown earlier today!
      But I’m better now.
      Thanks so much.


Leave a Reply

