Before I forget……….

February 19, 2012

There’s a couple of things I wanted to put here so I don’t forget to later. Yes, this site is mostly for me so some of what may end up here will seem odd maybe to anyone else.

Maybe not. I don’t know.

1) The number of emails and phone calls, along with the tremendous response from folks here and at http://www.crazyuncle.blogspot.com has been incredible.

Funny thing is, today I got 2 different calls from old friends who I hadn’t spoke with in awhile  who had no idea what was going on with this whole cancer thing. Both of them started off with, “Was just thinking of you and thought I should call.”

That sort of thing is not just a coincidence.

The emails from folks offering me help, Medical professionals offering me ideas and access to further treatments and surgeons, and Karl, who wants to drive over here from Cincinnati just to be nice, offer encouragement and give me one of his cool hats. (http://blog.ushanka.us/   Yeah, still haven’t learned how to insert a link yet.) is humbling, to say the least. A bit overwhelming. Can’t tell ya all how much that means.

2)Just saying it out loud is hard the first time.

Here’s something odd that happened Friday afternoon. Still only 24 hours into this new journey and my head was not sorted out well at all when I went by work to do the paperwork for the medical leave.

I mentioned to a couple of coworkers that I was was going to be off for awhile & naturally, they asked why. Everyone already knows I’ve been dealing with, what I thought was an ulcer but I just wasn’t able to give them a straight answer on what was happening.

I hemmed and hawed about how “it’s not an ulcer, I’m sick. Bad sick”. I just couldn’t come right out and say it.

Finally, I just had to force myself to just say it- “Ive got cancer.” I think I stuttered a bit while getting it out, too. That was extremely hard to to do. Just say it straight out like that. I even got a little nauseated for a second there after spitting it out.

I’m sure my Psych Professor from back in the college days would have an explanation for this. I don’t know if I was just consciously forcing my brain into accepting the reality or what.

I got an A in Psych, but I don’t remember much about the class content.

It was just a moment that somehow took on tremendous importance for just a minute and I wanted to be sure to get it down here.

Who knows, maybe it’ll help someone else realize that feeling or something as not being unusual.

I’m not able to, nor do I feel like analyzing it to much. It was just a weird moment in time that seemed important.

I did figure out how to post pictures today. So the good news is…………. You may start getting a double dose of the daily Gratuitous Picture! Yay for me.

Maiden Voyage of the Gratuitous Picture –

4 Responses to “Before I forget……….”

  1. Craig Cavanaugh Says:

    Link. Either copy and paste, or type something on a post. Highlight that something, click the chain link icon in the post writin’ toolbar, paste web address, and yer done


  2. Dude, so sorry to hear this.
    I want you to know that I am praying for you even though we will never meet, You are a hell of a good guy and this news saddens me greatly.

    I have enjoyed your thoughts for a couple of years now and always look forward to your “Gratuitous Pictures” of the day.

    Fight that sonofabitch with every ounce of strength you have and kick it’s ass like the rotten parasite it is.

    God Bless you man.

    Busted

    • crazyuncle Says:

      Busted- Yep, quite the surprise when shit like this shows up. Will change your priority levels on all kinds of things real fast.

      Unks Big Adventure really gets going in the next couple of days. I’m ready to get a program and get with it.


Leave a Reply

